Alabama rallies to win CFP national title in overtime vs. Georgia

Nick Saban made a quarterback switch at halftime and Alabama has its fifth national championship in nine years thanks to wild overtime victory.

Tua Tagovailoa hit fellow freshman DeVonta Smith for a 41-yard touchdown pass as Alabama rallied from a 13-point deficit in the third quarter for a 26-23 victory over stunned Georgia on Monday night in the College Football Playoff Championship Game.

Rodrigo Blankenship kicked a 51-yard field to start overtime, but Tagovailoa, who had replaced starter Jalen Hurts, hit Smith in the end zone one play after taking a sack.

The victory gave Saban six national championships — one at LSU — and tied him with Alabama legend Bear Bryant for the most ever.

Alabama, down 20-7 at one point, appeared set to win in regulation, but kicker Andy Pappanastos was wide left from 26 yards out as time expired.

Tagovailoa’s winner in overtime was his third touchdown pass of the game. He finished 14 of 24 for 166 yards.

Georgia freshman quarterback Jake Fromm was 16 of 32 for 232 yards and a touchdown, throwing two interceptions to Tagovailoa’s one.

Alabama went for it on fourth-and-4 from the 7-yard line and tied the game with 3:49 remaining in regulation as Tagovailoa hit Calvin Ridley in the end zone to climax a 66-yard drive that benefited from a Georgia pass interference call.

Tagovailoa replaced Hurts to start the second half and led Alabama to a touchdown on his second series, hitting Henry Ruggs III from 6 yards out.

Georgia quickly countered, though, as Fromm teamed with Mecole Hardman for an 80-yard touchdown on the fourth play after taking over at the 7-yard line following the kickoff.

Pappanastos made a 43-yard field goal late in the third quarter after an exchange of interceptions and hit from 30 yards early in the fourth to cut Georgia’s lead to 20-13.

Georgia outgained Alabama 223 yards to 94 in the first half and led 13-0 on wide receiver Hardman’s 1-yard sweep on a direct snap with seven seconds left before intermission.

The touchdown drive covered 69 yards and the Bulldogs went 55 and 70 yards to set up second-quarter field goals of 41 and 27 yards by Blankenship.

Alabama had a chance for an early lead after safety Tony Brown intercepted Fromm on Georgia’s third play, but a false start penalty wiped off a 35-yard field goal and Pappanastos missed from 40.

Hurts had a 31-yard run in the first half and 47 yards on the ground total, but only 21 yards passing while completing 3-of-8 throws.

NOTES: President Donald Trump attended the game and was on the field for the National Anthem. … Herschel Walker, who led Georgia to its 1980 national title as a freshman running back, was honorary captain for the Bulldogs. … Alabama was without OLB Anfernee Jennings and RG Lester Connor, who both suffered knee injuries in the Sugar Bowl, and LT Jonah Williams had to leave early in the third quarter. … There was a leak from the closed retractable roof at the west 25-yard line during warmups, but it wasn’t an issue during the game. … P JK Scott and OLB Rashaan Evans were the only Alabama players to play in the College Football Playoff each of its four years. … Alabama defensive coordinator Jeremy Pruitt, like Georgia’s Kirby Smart two years ago, worked the title game before taking over as an SEC head coach. Pruitt will coach Tennessee. … The 2019 CFP championship will be played at Levi Stadium in Santa Clara, Calif.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *